Day 20: Books

Uncategorized

image

My aunt gave me an interesting statistic: 80% of people have not gone to the library in the last 10 years.

It makes sense,  the age of technology has enabled one to attain books, magazines, and article, on their devices with just a few clicks, eliminating the need to have a physical, actual book. While its fascinating how technology has opened so many doors for knowledge, its kind of sad to see the age of “the book” slowly becoming a memory. There was a time when e-reader first came out that I refused to read anything that was.not an actual book or magazine; being an avid book reader since the age of 3 there was a certain nostalgia that I didnt want to let go. But I caved, well-my husband bought me an e-reader despite my protests – so I was inclined to read on it, and I actually began to like the convenience of it and the fact that iy didnt take so much weight.

So, it has been a few years since I had been to an actual library and borrowed an actual book, but I went a couple of weeks ago and remembered why I loved it: the ability to just get lost in the library, to have books find you…kind of nerdy, but I find it enthralling. I had only been there 5 minutes and had already an armful of books. I know, pretty nerdy, but I was crowned “most ferocious reader” in the 5th grade for nothing

Leave a Reply

