Day 15: Declaration

In the City

Image

This morning, I questioned whether or not I should just get off the bus to take a picture of this. On my route to work, I see pass by it every morning, but I was like fuck it and i got off that bus and snapped a picture of this.

I don’t know what it is, but I get kind of choked up with pride when I see, read or hear the first words of our Declaration of Independence, and really think about it too.  The first line, beginning with “We hold these truths to be self evident… ” is such a powerful and beautifully well-written line. I hear the first line and I’m like fuck yea! that’s what I’m talkin’ about! Merrica! Granted, we still have a little ways to go in regards to living in equality in it’s true form, but within this first line is embedded a moral standard of what America is all about.

Maybe it’s the ‘lover of  the English language’ in me that gets emotional when I hear or read this line, or maybe it’s my love for the country I live in. It’s probably both, but whatever it is – it makes me grateful and blessed for where I live.

Leave a Reply

